Taylor claims Group Two win

Taylor admitted to being a little fortunate at times

Phil Taylor won Championship League Group Two by edging past Simon Whitlock a final-leg shoot-out on Wednesday.

The Power won six of his seven group stage matches, with a 6-4 loss to Whitlock being the only blot on his copybook. By topping the group Taylor set up a grudge-match semi-final with Paul Nicholson.

The 15-time World Champion went on to beat the Aussie-Geordie for the second time in the day as he followed up the 6-0 whitewash in the group stages with a 6-3 win to book his place in the final.

Taylor admitted to being a little fortunate at times but ultimately gained revenge over Whitlock for his earlier defeat with a 6-5 final win, despite the Australian having a dart to win the match himself.

“I'm really pleased to have won that but I rode my luck in the final,” said Taylor. “It was another hard day and the standard was great, all the players pushed each other.

“I can relax now and look forward to coming back for the Winners Group, and hopefully I can do better than last year when I lost in the final to James Wade, because I'm determined to win back this trophy.”

Defending champion James Wade and 2008 Lakeside Champion Mark Webster managed just one win each throughout the day and, as a result, were eliminated from the Championship League.

Wayne Jones, Colin Lloyd and Mark Walsh enter the competition for Championship League Group Three, which begins at 1030 BST on Thursday morning.


Written By:- Lenny Boyle (About our Authors)
Posted on:- 28/09/2011 - 22:32 PM
Filed in:- Championship League Darts Betting News, Phil Taylor

Related Stories

Nicholson books place in Winners Group
Championship League Group Three Betting
Championship League Group Two Betting
Anderson wins Championship League Group One
Championship League Group One Betting
Championship League betting odds released
Championship League groups confirmed