Nicholson books place in Winners Group

Nicholson won six of his seven group stage games

Paul Nicholson won Championship League Darts Group Three to book his place in next month’s Winners Group at Crondon Park.

The 32-year-old won six of his seven group stage games to top the group ahead of Colin Lloyd, Simon Whitlock and Mark Walsh, who also finished in the top four to make the semi-final line-up.

6-4 wins for Nicholson and Whitlock over Walsh and Lloyd respectively set up a final match between two in-form players. The Asset looked to be cruising toward the Winners Group when he took a 5-2 lead but Whitlock battled back to take the next two legs and reduce his arrears to just one leg.

But Nicholson stood firm and when The Wizard missed a dart at the double to force a deciding leg he stepped in to clinch the match.

At the other end of the table Andy Hamilton was eliminated after losing all seven of his matches. And, having beaten Phil Taylor and made the final of Championship League Darts Group One, Wes Newton was also eliminated after being tied on six points with Mervyn King and Wayne Jones but finishing with a worse leg difference.

Championship League Group Four takes place on Tuesday 11 October 2011 where Ronnie Baxter, Vincent van der Voort and Jamie Caven enter the competition.

Written By:- Jaymes Monte (About our Authors)
Posted on:- 30/09/2011 - 10:44 AM
Filed in:- Championship League Darts Betting News

Related Stories

Championship League Group Three Betting
Taylor claims Group Two win
Championship League Group Two Betting
Anderson wins Championship League Group One
Championship League Group One Betting
Championship League betting odds released
Championship League groups confirmed